Osmia Organics: I think I love you (Part I)

Ahh, Osmia. What can I say about you that hasn’t already been said? Osmia Organics has created quite a buzz in the green beauty world and really does live up to the hype.

Before trying Osmia products, I grew to love the story of how the company came to be. Creator Sarah Villafranco was a former ER doctor who changed the course of her 10 year career after falling in love with making soap, lotions, and scents. On her website, she wrote about the mixed feelings she had about her profession prior to leaving it and how eventually, she gave into the all-consuming passion she had for creating skin care.

Reading her story inspired me so much.  I have always admired those in life who pursue their authentic self. To me, people like Sarah seem to live so genuinely in the way that they relate to themselves, to others, and to life in general. As I am currently pursuing a career change, Sarah’s story serves as a reminder to me that things will be okay if you pursue what you love and work really hard at it.

Mushy stuff aside..on to the review.

Osmia Organics Detox Exfoliating Mask

About a week ago, I had a relaxing Saturday night in and treated myself to my weekly Osmia Organics Detox Exfoliating Mask. And like all beauty loving women of the digital age, you better believe I Instagrammed it. Case in point:

Osmia detox mask

#instagrammedit

This was the first Osmia product I read about in the green beauty community. And from day one, I was tickled with intrigue. To me, dark, muddy colored masks are so quintessentially “grown ass woman who takes care of herself”. Know what I mean?

This mask contains purifying clay, raw cacao, manuka honey, and toxin-removing activated bamboo charcoal. It comes in a lovely little bottle in powder form with a small ceramic dish and mini mixing utensil. You simply mix the powder with water to form a paste and carefully apply it to your face. It smells pleasantly nutty. At first, it can feel a bit watery, but within five minutes, it begins to harden and tighten around the skin. After 15-20 minutes, it should be rinsed by gently massaging it off in circular motions, which helps to exfoliate the skin. After rinsing the mask off, my face looked noticeably more even-toned. My existing red spots and/or blemishes were neutralized. My “almost blemishes” aka “zits in progress” appeared slightly red. This is the activated bamboo charcoal working as it pulls forth impurities from the skin. I like that this mask speeds up the healing process of blemishes and it’s satisfying to actually see where it went to work. Washing my face the next morning, I noticed my skin looked so much healthier and smoother.

A warning to those who have very sensitive skin, it is recommended for you to do a patch test prior to putting this on your face as mild redness may occur.

Ingredients:

rhassoul cosmetic clay, fuller’s earth cosmetic clay, australian pastel pink clay, black walnut hull (juglans nigra) powder*, bamboo activated charcoal powder, raw cacao (theobroma cacao) powder*, raw manuka (leptospermum scoparium) honey powder*, olive leaf (olea europaea) powder*

28.5% certified organic ingredients
100% ingredients from nature
*indicates certified organic ingredient

Environmental Working Group (EWG) Skin Deep Rating: 0
Osmia Detox

Look at the cute mixing dish it comes with! Sigh, the little things in life..

Overall, I’m very happy with this product and would definitely repurchase it. I’ve taken up the habit of doing weekly masks now and look forward to it every week.

When I purchased this mask, I also ordered the Purely Simple Face Cream and the Luster Lip Gloss. I received samples of the Facial Calibration Serum and the Active Gel Toner (formerly called the Active Gel Nutrient Serum). I can’t wait to rave about these items too, so stay tuned for upcoming posts on more Osmia goodies.

Love and light,
vm

5 thoughts on “Osmia Organics: I think I love you (Part I)

  1. Pingback: Osmia Organics: I think I love you (Part II) | Vivian Madeline

Leave a Reply

