Blueberry Meyer Lemon Gelatin Gummy Snacks

Blueberry lemon gummies

Aren’t they cute?

Today, I made a delicious batch of Blueberry Meyer Lemon Gelatin Gummy Snacks based on a recipe from Diane Sanfilippo’s blog Balanced Bites. The only thing I changed in the recipe was to use Meyer lemons rather than your average every day lemons. This was actually a happy accident, as they were the only kind I had in my fridge. Once you go Meyer lemons, you never go back.. Okay that’s not really a saying, but that’s how I feel! They just add a special lil somethin’ somethin’.

Meyer lemons are pleasantly floral tasting and smell a bit like oranges. Apparently they are thought to be a cross between a lemon and an orange.

Before I move on to the recipe, I want to offer a few words on why I care about eating gelatin gummy snacks to begin with.

At the beginning of this year, I became very ill with Histamine Intolerance, an intestinal pathogenic infection, and small intestinal bacteria overgrowth (SIBO). In layman’s terms, my gut bacteria was imbalanced and my intestines were damaged, which caused my immune system and overall health to go haywire.  For the past year, I have focused on repairing my gut. Aside from the herbal supplements prescribed by my integrative practitioner, stress management, and adequate rest, I focused on eating anti-inflammatory foods and nourishing foods that support intestinal healing.

One such superfood is gelatin. My main source of gelatin is in the form of homemade mineral rich bone broth made from grassfed bones. (Stay tuned for a future post on bone broth as I truly believe that my consistent consumption of this played a key role in restoring my health.)  Another source of gelatin is the grassfed powdered variety that can be used in recipes such as the one I am discussing today. I recommend the Great Lakes brand, which can be purchased here.

BENEFITS of GELATIN (1) 

– Soothes and heals the digestive tract
– Supports wound healing
– Supports skin, hair, and nail growth
– Supports joint recovery
– Aids in tightening loose skin
– Improves digestion
– Aids the liver in detoxification

It’s important to note that you should consume vitamin A and D rich foods with your gelatin as its amino acids can only be properly utilized when your diet contains sufficient fat-soluble vitamins. Some examples of these foods are butter, egg yolks, and cod liver oil. (1)

I love making this recipe because it’s a nice little treat, especially if you are trying hard to avoid not so healthy sweets. I have only made blueberry lemon gummies, but there have been lots of other possible delicious combinations floating in my head like..freshly squeezed citrus grapefruit, orange, or mixed berry.

BLUEBERRY MEYER LEMON GELATIN GUMMY SNACKS
from Balanced Bites

Ingredients

  • 1 cup blueberries, defrosted from frozen or fresh
  • 1 cup freshly squeezed Meyer lemon juice
  • zest from lemons and/or limes as desired
  • 1 tablespoon of real maple syrup
  • 6 tablespoons grass-fed gelatin (orange/red package will gel, the green will not)

Preparation

  • In a blender, combine the blueberries and lemon juice until no visible skin or large pieces of berries appear.
  • In a small pot over medium-low heat, whisk the blueberry lemon mixture with the lemon zest, maple syrup, and gelatin together vigorously until the gelatin is well dissolved and the mixture becomes a nice slurry.
  • Pour the mixture into a small glass or ceramic dish, preferably 6×9″ or so. The smaller the pan, the thicker your gummies will be. For thinner gummies (to cut into “worms,” for example), use a larger pan
  • Cut them out with small cookie cutters once they’re chilled and fully gelled, or chill them in fun-shaped molds. To remove them from the molds once chilled, set the bottoms of the mold containers in warm water to release them from the pan.
Gummy Ingredients

1) Grassfed gelatin, meyer lemon juice, organic blueberries
(maple syrup not pictured)

Blending gummies

2) Blueberry + lemon juice blending action

gummies on stove

3) Add the gelatin to the mixture gradually to avoid a clumpy consistency

gummies harden

4) Mixture is cooled prior to being placed in the fridge

Blueberry lemon gummies

5) Cut them into fun shapes & enjoy!

          I hope you try this recipe for a healthy treat and as a way to incorporate gelatin in your diet. Enjoy!

Love and light,
vm

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Meyer Lemon Gelatin Gummy Snacks

Leave a Reply

