Goal Setting for the New Year

Happy New Year! How have the first few weeks of 2014 been treating you? They’ve been great to me so far. I got back in touch with old friends who I had not seen in a long time. This past weekend, I attended Chris Kresser‘s book signing for the launch of Your Personal Paleo Code.  I’m currently reading it and am so excited for this book’s release as it has the potential to transform so many lives. Stay tuned for a book review post.

New Years Eve was spent low key. My boyfriend went almost an entire year without getting sick, and then in the final days of 2013, he came down with a really bad cold. Figures, right?

On New Years Day, we sat down together and recapped the most memorable events of 2013, and what our goals and aspirations are for the new year. It was my idea, and I know it sounds a bit cheesy, but I feel like big things will happen in 2014, and they won’t just happen on their own. I have to put plans into action and develop habits that will contribute to developing those plans. He was completely open to doing this exercise with me–and just as a side note–I feel incredibly lucky to have a partner in life whom I can discuss absolutely anything and everything with. Not to toot our own horn (*toot, toot*), but I feel like our open lines of communication make us a strong and healthy couple. At any given moment, we know where the other person stands, and if we don’t know? We just ask. Communication is key and it makes us even more supportive of each other’s plans and ambitions. I cherish this because I know that not every couple has this, and like all good things in life, it takes work.

I want to share some tips on goal setting for the new year. These tips are very simple, but can make all the difference.

1. Set goals that are measurable.

You’re setting yourself up for failure if your goal is “to exercise more”. That goal does not allow you to keep yourself accountable. Instead, set a goal that is measurable, such as “exercise four times each week”. The simple measurement of “four times each week” provides a benchmark, and doesn’t allow you to get lazy with your goal. You know very well if you hit four workouts or not. Thus, you know if you failed or if you succeeded, and exactly how much harder you need to work if you have fallen off track.

2. Tell someone about your goal.

By communicating your goals, you are creating a support system for yourself, and are simultaneously having that person’s knowledge of your goal keep you accountable. It’s embarrassing to declare an elaborate goal but have nothing to show for it in the end, isn’t it? It’s not enough to set a goal and keep it a secret. At our weakest moments, we will think, “that’s too hard”, “I don’t have enough time”, “I wasn’t being serious when I made that goal”, or “there’s always next year”. Your support system can lift you up when you are down and can remind you of what’s really important to you.  And honestly, at least for me, the potential embarrassment of having nothing to show for is a pretty good motivator.

3. Set realistic goals.

Make sure what you’re striving for is actually feasible given the constraints of time, money, and other factors. Start off by thinking about your ultimate goal, and then break it down by considering what it will take to get there. How many months will it take? What certain things need to happen in order for you to get there? Do you have to meet the right contacts? How will you meet them? Do you need to have x amount of money? How much energy and time will you need to devote to it on a monthly, weekly, and daily basis? This information will be helpful in successfully setting and meeting your goals.

4. Reevaluate your goals in predetermined time frames.

Keep tabs on yourself by formally sitting down and evaluating how you’re doing. This might be a good time to tweak (not twerk, that’s something different) some of your goals.

Personally, I plan to evaluate myself on a monthly basis just by reviewing my goals and progress on my own. On a quarterly basis, I plan to talk to my boyfriend about our goals individually and as a couple and how we’re doing, much like we did on January 1st of this year.

A Few of My Goals

I won’t reveal all my goals with you, Internet friend, but here are just a few:

  • I will devote my time and energy to this blog. It’s something I really love as a creative outlet and something that reinforces my values and the path that I am on. Be prepared to see at least six posts each month from me. Boom, it’s out there.
  • Read one book every two months. Some of you might be like, “Really? That’s it?”  Yes, really.  I typically don’t make time to properly sit down and read a book during my free time. But I am going to change that.  Baby steps.
  • Attend A Night For Green Beauty.  Last year’s event was held in September in NYC hosted by La Bella Figura. It was an event that brought green beauty bloggers and green beauty lovers together in support of a common cause.  Here’s what The La Bella Figura team had to say about the event:

“A Night For Green Beauty is what we decided to call our revolutionary concept because we feel the time for clean, non-toxic beauty products is now and we want to celebrate how far we’ve come and how it’s no longer just about the fear of parabens, chemicals or other scary stuff, but about quality, effectiveness and glamour back on your vanity table and in your handbags. The days of patchouli scented everything are gone and now we’re delving into luxurious face oils made with fair trade and organic fruit and vegetable oils, rich creams and efficacious face masks that bring radiance and health back to lackluster skin just as well or even better as the conventional products we’ve been using for ages.”

Nontoxic beauty and skin care have become passions of mine and it would be a dream to hang out with like-minded ladies, such as Katie, Britanie, and Garcy.

What are your goals for the new year?

Leave a Reply

