Introducing Monday Morsels!

Hi there,

Every Monday, I’ll be serving up an array of tasty wellness morsels (clever, I know) from the previous week’s happenings on the interwebz. This series will include but will not be limited to information about nutrition from the paleo/ancestral, clean beauty, and wellness worlds. These are all passions of mine and I want to share the wealth of information that’s out there. Hopefully one or some of these things will strike your fancies.

Nutrition:

  • Chris Kresser’s list of 5 things everyone gets wrong about Paleo.
    I blogged a bit about Chris’ book in my last post. This is a great post for curious folks who have heard of the Paleo lifestyle but some doubts are holding you back from giving it a try. Chris has got such a practical and flexible approach to Paleo and it always comes from such a well-researched place.

Clean Beauty:

  • Bay Area nail salons are making healthier choices for their workers and clientele.
    What a sigh of relief. One thing that I really miss since completely detoxing my personal care routine are painted nails. Conventional nail polish is one of the most toxic things you can expose your body to. Don’t turn a blind eye, ladies! (and men, if you’re into it.) We all want to look good.. I know. But there are healthier, water-based, options out there from brands like Acquarella.  Here’s my attempt to scare you into healthier habits:

    “Toluene, which is used to create a smooth look in polishes, can cause damage to the liver and kidneys and harm unborn children during pregnancy. And formaldehyde, which hardens polish, is a carcinogen.”

  • An inspiring interview on Kristen Arnett.
    Kristen is an international makeup artist and the Founder and Editor-In-Chief of the Green Beauty Team. As you might have already noticed, I have a minor obsession with reading about how successful people who followed their passions got started. I find these people to be so incredibly inspiring. We all want happiness in life. We all have 24 hours each day. I always want to know: what are these people doing that I am not? How can I be more like them?

Wellness:

  • Meditation can help manage anxiety, depression, and pain.
    I’ve heard a lot about the benefits of meditation over this past year. My integrative practitioner has urged me to get into it for stress reduction and healing. In the beginning of my wellness journey, I found that yoga helped a lot. Not only is it good for the nervous system, but I found that the connection of mind and body helped me to feel in control of my body again when it was being reactive and unpredictable. I can imagine that taking the practice of mindfulness further via meditation would be really beneficial both physically and mentally.

I hope you found these articles interesting. Have a great week!

Love and light,

vm

Leave a Reply

